2022-2023 Slate of Nominations

Megan Overman, APR, CPC
Senior Communications Officer
Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD

Megan Overman has served as a public relations professional in Texas public schools since 2000. She started her career as a print reporter and editor, working at newspapers in Texas, Oklahoma and Arkansas. This foundation has served her well in her various communications, media and public relations roles with K-12 public school districts over the past 21 years. Her tenure has spanned four districts in the North Texas market, all of which have built diverse experience and understanding of varying district sizes and demographics, growth rates, leadership, and community expectations. She is currently in her seventh year at Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD and serving as senior communications officer. She is completing her second term of office as TSPRA North Texas VP. Megan has been a TSPRA member for 21 years.

North Central Vice President
Justin Dearing
Director of Communications
Grapevine-Colleyville ISD

Justin is the former assistant director of communications with Carroll ISD and the former multimedia/marketing specialist for Mansfield ISD. He has served on the Conference Planning Committee.  Justin has won several Star Awards and hosts a podcast called School PR Happy Hour, which earned him the 2020 Bright Idea Award. Justin has been a TSPRA member for seven years.

Far West Area Vice President
Daniel Escobar
Chief Communications Officer
Socorro ISD

 Since 2003, he has worked in communication roles for school systems in central and west Texas, serving in the San Antonio ISD, Ysleta ISD, Arlington ISD and Socorro ISD. Daniel joined the SISD family in 2009 as a staff writer. In 2012 he earned the position of Director of Public Relations and was promoted to chief communications officer in 2014. In his current position, he oversees all public outreach, media relations, graphics and publications, video production, special event coordination and student/employee awards and recognition. His team has earned both the Texas School Public Relations Association Platinum Award and National School Public Relations Association Gold Medallion Award, the highest state and national honors given to a school district public relations team. Daniel has been a TSPRA member for 15 years.


San Antonio Vice President
Kim Cathey
Communications Specialist & PIO
Floresville ISD

Kim has served TSPRA in various capacities, including as a member of the nominating committee for two years, as a conference presenter for two years and SASPRA Zone Coordinator.  In 2017, she was honored as TSPRA’s Rookie of the Year. She says, “I am passionate about public education. I am passionate about continual growth. I am passionate about building relationships that foster collaboration.” Kim is completely her term as the current TSPRA San Antonio VP. Kim has been a TSPRA member for five years.

Gulf Coast Vice President
Helen Escobar
Coordinator of Public Relations
Roma ISD

As the coordinator for public relations for Roma ISD, Escobar focuses on the development and implementation of public relations and marketing strategies for the 6,000-student district. Her TSPRA membership follows her career from South Texas College to Rio Grande City CISD and now Roma ISD. Her team at Roma ISD has won three best of class awards, as well as more than 20 Star Awards for a variety of work. Helen has served on the Nominating Committee and has been a TSPRA member for more than 16 years.

Houston/Beaumont Vice President
Kim Hocott
Director of Communications
Pearland ISD

Kim Hocott has more than 11 years of communication administration experience and 14 years of classroom experience. Kim has been a presenter at TSPRA Annual Conference, chaired the Rookie Bootcamp Preconference, served as a conference day chair and has served as Parliamentarian on the Executive Committee during the 2019-2020 term. She has earned several TSPRA Star Awards in addition to other professional awards in the industry. Kim is completing her current term as TSPRA VP for Houston/Beaumont region. Kim has been a TSPRA member for 14 years.

At-Large VP, Place 2
Stephanie De Los Santos
Director of Client Engagement
Harris Country Department of Education, Houston

Stephanie De Los Santos has won numerous TSPRA Star Awards, including a Crystal Commendation, and has served TSPRA in several capacities. She served as Zone Coordinator of HASPRA and Nominating Committee Member for two years each, Conference Planning Committee for three years, served on the Magazine Committee, has presented at several TSPRA conferences and more.  Stephanie championed a successful campaign for a $1.2 billion bond and was a co-writer for a $2.2 million grant.  Her areas of expertise are marketing/branding and multi-lingual communications. Stephanie has been a TSPRA member for 16 years.

At-Large VP, Place 3
Sherese Nix-Lightfoot

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations
Garland ISD

Sherese Nix-Lightfoot graduated from Dillard University with a bachelor’s degree in Mass Communications and began her career in education as a speech and communications teacher. She has also served as a principal and a school improvement and innovation officer before heading into the position of chief of communications at Lancaster ISD. She is now the executive director of communications and public relations in Garland ISD.  She made history as the first African American woman to hold this position in the district’s one-hundred-year history. In 2020, Sherese was appointed by the executive committee to fill an unexpired position as At-Large VP, Place 3. Sherese has been a TSPRA member for four years.

Completing terms of office in 2022-2023:

President Rebecca Villarreal, APR, New Braunfels ISD

Immediate Past President Veronica Sopher, Fort Bend ISD

East Texas VP Jamie Fails, Willis ISD

West Central VP Elizabeth Cox, Belton ISD

Northwest VP Kenneth Dixon, Lubbock ISD

Central Texas VP Marco Alvarado, Lake Travis ISD

At-Large VP, Place 1 Corey Ryan, CPC, Leander ISD

To see a list of all the officers, click the link below.