Election Results 2021-2022

President-Elect: Rebecca Villarreal, APR

Rebecca Villarreal, APR, is the current Director of Communications for New Braunfels ISD.  She started her career in the San Antonio market and has worked primarily in education for K-12 public-school districts and in higher education. She first joined TSPRA in 2002 and a has been a member of NSPRA the past three years. Rebecca has served in many capacities, including as a member of various committees as well as the current At Large Vice President, Place 1.  Rebecca earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mass Communications from UT Permian Basin and a Master of Communication Arts from University of the Incarnate Word.

East Texas VP: Jamie Fails

A former teacher, Jamie Fails is the Director of Communications at Willis ISD.  A TSPRA member for the past eight years, Jamie has been a member of the strategic planning committee, bylaws review committee, audit committee and the chair of the teller committee. At the conference in 2015 she was named the Rookie of the Year for her work on a community-wide Welcome Home Celebration for Johnny Manziel, a 2012 graduate of the district who went on to become a star quarterback at Texas A&M University and won the coveted Heisman Trophy that year. Over the years, Jamie has earned numerous Star Awards, including the prestigious Crystal Commendation for Photography Portfolio in 2017.

Central Area VP: Marco Alvarado

A member of our organization since 2001, Marco Alvarado, Director of Communications, Media & Community Relations at Lake Travis ISD, has served on the following committees: The executive committee as parliamentarian (2010), Central Area as zone coordinator (current), Awards Committee as a member, and Audit Committee as a member. Serving in CASPRA since 2007, Marco brings professional experiences that include elections, school openings, re-zoning, new superintendents, national media, and community partnerships. His past positions have included Director of Communications at Laredo ISD, Public Information officer at the Texas Department of Transportation and Public Information Officer for the city of Laredo. After earning his Bachelor of Arts in Broadcast Journalism from Texas Tech University, Marco went on to earn his Master of Arts in Strategic Communication and Leadership from Senton Hall University in South Orange, NJ.

Northwest VIP: Kenneth Dixon

Kenneth Dixon is the Television Coordinator for Lubbock ISD. Under his direction, Lubbock ISD-TV, the school district’s educational access television program, has developed into one of the best student television stations in the country. This is evidenced by the number of awards and recognition received from the Student Television Network, TSPRA, Skills USA and many other organizations. Kenneth earned his Bachelor of Science in Business Administration –Technical Management from Wayland Baptist University and a Master of Education from Texas Tech University.

At-Large, Place 1: Corey Ryan

Corey Ryan, Chief Communications Officer Leander ISD, has been serving TSPRA for more than 10 years. He has served on statewide committees, such as conference planning, strategic planning, audit, and the executive committee in a Vice-Presidential role. Not only has Corey served in a number of ways, but he has also worked in two distinctly different zones (Gulf Coast and Central Area). He now leads the team in Leander ISD, but in his career, he has held many roles in communications departments in three different districts across the state. Corey has experience in web, video, marketing, education foundations. Corey has a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism from Ohio University and Masters of Business Administration from the University of Texas Pan American. He is also a part of the graduating Cohort 7 in the Certified Public Communicator program.

Completing their terms of office in 2021-2022:

Veronica Sopher, President [will move to immediate past-president position]

Veronica Castillon, APR, Immediate Past-President

Craig Verley, Gulf Coast Area VP

Kim Hocott, Houston/Beaumont Area VP

Megan Overman, APR, CPC, North Central VP

Melissa Martinez, APR, CPC, Far West Area VP

Kim Cathey, San Antonio Areaa VP

Stephanie De Los Santos, VP At-Large Position 2

Sherese Nix-Lightfoot, VP At-Large Position 3