2020 Professional Award Winners

The chair of TSPRA’s 2019-2020 Professional Awards Committee is Susan Ard, CPC, of Cleveland ISD. Other committee members include Patti Pawlik-Perales, Alamo Heights ISD; Julie Thannum, APR, Carroll ISD; Cynthia Ybarra, Mission CISD; Kate Hope, Magnolia ISD and Erin Gregg, Lubbock ISD.

Professional Achievement 2020

2020 Professional Achievement Award:
Ian Halperin, Wylie ISD

“In the five years that I have worked in School PR, Ian Halperin has been one of the most trusted professionals in our field. It is my honor to consider him not only a friend, but a mentor. He has led multiple TSPRA committees, as well as our state organization in his year as TSPRA president. He’s a pioneer in the field of school safety, an expert on open records and crisis, and is passionate about connected people, and mentoring new School PR professionals.

“His 20+ years of experience has allowed Ian to watch the landscape of School PR change, and Ian has adapted gracefully to shifts in our profession.

“I can genuinely say that I wouldn’t be where I am in my career today, if Ian hadn’t reached out to me, and shared not only his expertise, but his friendship. We are all fortunate to have Ian Halperin as a colleague.”


2020 Most Valuable Member:
Tim Carroll, APR, Allen ISD

“Since joining the organization in 1995, Tim has served a myriad of roles, most notably as TSPRA President in 2011-2012. He has hosted countless conference sessions and is also a frequent mentor to the TSPRA Rookie Bootcamp classes. Tim is a public relations professional through-and-through, but he’s also a teacher at heart and loves to share his knowledge with others. Hardly a week goes by when he isn’t contacted by another TSPRA member looking for sage advice. No matter how busy he is, Tim is always willing to take the time to listen and offer his wisdom and guidance.”Tim has also served as the emcee of the Star Awards Banquet for the past 15 years. He takes the role seriously and thinks of ways to keep it light and entertaining, often by encouraging audience interaction through games and sing-alongs, and also produced video spoofs on The Office or Undercover Boss.

“Tim is truly a significant asset to the TSPRA organization and its membership, and I appreciate you for considering his nomination.”

O'Connell Robertson Logo

2020 Rookie Of The Year:
Kelsey Purcell, Friendswood ISD

“Kelsey hit the ground running as soon as she was hired with her creative and innovative ideas and caring attitude.

“She was solely responsible for creating and producing numerous innovative projects, including a weekly Staff and Student Spotlight, a bi-monthly electronic newsletter for the community, and the “Challenge Accepted” video series which highlights the Superintendent accepting various challenges from students.

“She connects with staff and students by spending time in the schools and by mentoring a high school student every week. Kelsey is detail-oriented, creative and an excellent communicator. Her talent in all aspects of her work (writing, producing videos, social media) have truly transformed the culture and enhanced communication in Friendswood ISD.”

Bright Idea 2020

2020 Bright Idea Award:
School PR Happy Hour; Erin McCann, CPC, Crandall ISD and Justin Dearing, Carroll ISD

“Erin and Justin were named to 2018-2020 NSPRA’s 35 under 35 class. The two took the opportunity for national recognition and turned it into a platform to further promote the professional development of School PR Professionals.

“In a brainstorming session for their upcoming NSPRA presentation, a conversation on how they could continue the important conversations from state and national conferences began. From that conversation, the bright idea of School PR Happy Hour became a passion project for both Justin and Erin.

“Twice monthly, Justin and Erin interview PR professionals in a podcast format, both here in Texas and nationally, on topics that are important to our industry. The response has been overwhelming. The shows are averaging more than 200 downloads per show, but more importantly, Justin and Erin are hearing about connections being made throughout Texas and across the country over the conversations had during the 20-25 minute podcast.”

Media Award 2020
Blackboard Logo

2020 Media Award:
David Chancellor, WOAI NBC Channel 4 San Antonio

“David Chancellor is a true advocate of Texas Public Schools! David listens to those he interviews and always finds deeper meaning in the stories they share. His unique ability to tell the intricate stories of our students, our staff, and our educational communities in San Antonio are heartfelt and honest.

“He has a special way of getting to the heart of the story and drawing out the truth and emotion of just what it means to be a student or a teacher in today’s public education setting. His stories are set in San Antonio, but they speak to the truth of public education across our state. His work elicits renewed faith in our schools. When you watch, you are guaranteed to shed a few tears. For his honest and heartfelt story-telling, and his message of the resilience, dedication, earnest efforts and strength of our students, staff, schools, and families, we nominate David Chancellor of WOAI News 4, for the TSPRA Media Award.”

2020 Partner in Public Education Award:
Charles T. Doyle

“Since the Charles T. Doyle Leadership Education and Development Series (LEADS) was created, Mr. Doyle has pledged in excess of $200,000 to the TCISD Foundation for the Future to operate this program. Above and beyond that pledge, he and his wife annually give out multiple $1,000 scholarships to students who qualify and attend all four leadership sessions while they are in high school. Mr. Doyle, both personally and professionally, has been making a significant contribution to student needs for many years in his banking communities.

“The LEADS program is not the only education program that Mr. Doyle supports in our community. His leadership and vision are indeed positively impacting children and the communities. Because of his broad reach in Galveston County, which includes seven school districts, we believe Charles T. “Chuck” Doyle is the ideal Partner in Public Education and most deserving of this prestigious award.”